40th Anniversary Celebration: November 1, 2014

[easingsliderpro id=”3″]


Heyday's 40th Anniversary Celebration

Heyday plays a unique role in California, celebrating Native cultural revival, promoting boundary-breaking ideas in history, environment, and the arts, and doing so with integrity, generosity, and grace. Join us as we celebrate Heyday’s past, discuss its future, and honor its founder and publisher, Malcolm Margolin.


Saturday, November 1, 2014 at 6:30 p.m.
UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
2626 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94720 (map)

6:30 p.m. – Cocktails, food, live music, and silent auction
8:00 p.m. – Program and live auction

Maxine Hong Kingston, award-winning author
Mark Buell, special guest auctioneer
Malcolm Margolin, Heyday founder and publisher

$175 per person
To purchase tickets visit heyday40.eventbrite.com.


For more information, please contact Lillian Fleer at
(510) 549-3564, ext. 316 or lillian@heydaybooks.com.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS: Guy Lampard, Chairman; Richard D. Baum; Barbara Boucke; Steve Costa; Nik Dehejia; Lokelani Devone; Theresa Harlan; Nettie Hoge; Marty Krasney; Michael McCone, Chairman Emeritus; Alexandra Rome; Sonia Torres; Michael Traynor; Lisa Van Cleef, Vice Chair; and Patricia Wakida.

HOST COMMITTEE Peter Coyote, Lauren and Alan Dachs, Frances Dinkelspiel, Charles and Jamy Faulhaber, Lori Fogarty, Anthea M. Hartig, Charlene Harvey and Michael McCone, Robert Hass and Brenda Hillman, Huey Johnson, Tom Killion, Thomas C. Layton, David Mas and Marcy Masumoto, Susan Medak, Claire Peeps, Ishmael Reed, Hon. Nancy Skinner, Rebecca Solnit, Mike Sweeney, Alice Waters, and Al Young.


Many thanks to our generous sponsors!

PUBLISHER: Mr. and Mrs. Paul Bancroft ~ Charlene Harvey and Michael McCone ~ The Stern-Maxworthy Families

EDITOR: Lauren and Alan Dachs ~ Chris Desser and Kirk Marckwald ~ Guy Lampard and Suzanne Badenhoop ~ Yoche Dehe Wintun Nation ~ Yosemite Conservancy

AUTHOR: Berkeleyside ~ The California Historical Society ~ Graham Chisholm ~ Jon Christensen ~ Coke and James Hallowell ~ Restore Hetch Hetchy ~ Leanne Hinton and Gary Scott ~ Ernest and June Siva

RESEARCHER: Advocates for Indigenous California Language Survival ~ Judy Avery ~ California State Parks Foundation ~ Nik Dehejia ~ Patrick Golden ~ Theresa Harlan and Ken Tiger ~ Carla Hills and Frank LaPena ~ Claudia Jurmain ~ Richard Nagler ~ Roselyne Swig

FRIEND: Authors Alliance ~ Judith and Phillip Auth ~ The Bancroft Library ~ Bay Nature ~ Mike Bergstrom and Beth Pratt ~ The Book Club of California ~ William Carroll ~ John and Nancy Cassidy ~ Jim and Vicky Dodge ~ East Bay Regional Park District ~ Stephen Edelman ~ Charles and Jamy Faulhaber ~ Pamela Garcia ~ Barry and Erica Goode ~ Cindy and David Heitzman ~ The Keith Campbell Foundation ~ Linda Maio and Rob Browning ~ Karen and Tom Mulvaney ~ Northern California Water Association ~ Point Reyes Books ~ Jim Quay ~ Mary Selkirk and Lee Balance ~ Thomson-Shore ~ Michael and Shirley Traynor ~ Michael Tucker ~ David S. Wilson

SUPPORTER: Berit Ashla ~ Ralph Benson ~ Barbara Boucke ~ California Wildlife Foundation ~ David F. Chu ~ Lucille Lang Day ~ Cricket Halsey ~ Donna Huggins ~ Jesse Flyingcloud Pope Foundation ~ Thomas C. Layton ~ Ray McDevitt ~ Pam Mendelsohn ~ Mary Lou Myers ~ Ruth Nolan ~ Northern California Independent Booksellers Association ~ Robyn G. Peterson ~ Bonnie Portnoy ~ Frank Rubenfeld and Susan Meller ~ Craig Strang