New Releases

The California Field Atlas

This lavishly illustrated atlas takes readers off the beaten path and outside normal conceptions of California, revealing its myriad ecologies, topographies, and histories in exquisite maps and trail paintings. Based on decades of exploring the backcountry of the Golden State, artist-adventurer Obi Kaufmann blends science and art to illuminate the multifaceted array of living, connected systems like no book has done before. […]

Paperback, ISBN: 978-1-59714-402-5
Price: $45.00

A Californian’s Guide to the Birds among Us

As its sister title, A Californian’s Guide to the Trees among Us, did for arboreal varieties, this new guidebook introduces casual birders to 120 of California’s most easily seen bird species—native and exotic alike—as found in a mix of urban, suburban, and traditionally natural habitats. Full-color images and clear, direct descriptions make identification easy, and […]

Paperback, ISBN: 978-1-59714-383-7
Price: $19.00

The City of Vines: A History of Wine in Los Angeles

Winner of the 2016 California Historical Society Book Award! The latest title from the author of A History of Wine in America recounts the beginnings of California’s world-renowned wine trade—a story set not in Napa but in the isolated pueblo now called Los Angeles. With incisive analysis and a touch of dry humor, The City […]

Hardcover, ISBN: 978-1-59714-398-1
Price: $35.00

Cosplay in America Volume 2

A lush combination of portraiture and documentary photography, Cosplay in America Volume 2 takes us on a tour of fan conventions across the nation—from Comic-Con International in San Diego and Los Angeles’s Anime Expo to Dragon Con in Atlanta and New York Comic Con—in celebration of the pastime of cosplay. The act of dressing up as characters from movies, manga, video […]

Hardcover, ISBN: 978-0-9961295-0-3
Price: $40.00

The Haas Sisters of Franklin Street: A San Francisco Memoir of Family and Love

Outfitted with a new foreword by Kevin Starr, this account of nineteenth- and early twentieth-century San Francisco vividly evokes the luxurious lifestyle and close bond shared by sisters Alice Haas Lilienthal and Florine Haas Bransten. While author Frances Bransten Rothmann recreates her mother and aunt’s world of leisure with lively descriptions of high tea at […]

Paperback, with flaps, ISBN: 978-1-59714-389-9
Price: $20.00

How a Mountain Was Made: Stories

In the tradition of Calvino’s Italian Folktales, Greg Sarris, author of the award-winning novel Grand Avenue, turns his attention to his ancestral homeland of Sonoma Mountain in Northern California. In sixteen interconnected original stories, the twin crows Question Woman and Answer Woman take us through a world unlike yet oddly reminiscent of our own: one […]

Hardcover, ISBN: 978-1-59714-414-8
Price: $25.00

The Man Who Lit Lady Liberty: The Extraordinary Rise and Fall of Actor M. B. Curtis

As the Statue of Liberty stood unlit and unloved by American politicians in 1886, one of her saviors was creating a theatrical sensation at New York’s Fourteenth Street Theatre. Actor M. B. Curtis, who had achieved overnight success in Sam’l of Posen, a groundbreaking play that transcended the common stereotypes of Jewish characters current at […]

Hardcover, ISBN: 978-096782-045-3
Price: $29.95

Our Dishonest President

Weeks before Donald J. Trump reached his first hundred days in office, the Los Angeles Times’s Editorial Board published the first of six consecutive denunciations calling him “Our Dishonest President.” The paper’s condemnation of Trump’s lies, his authoritarian temperament, his war on journalism, and his obsession with conspiracies was as bold as it was unprecedented, […]

Paperback, ISBN: 978-1-59714-433-9
Price: $7.99

The Way We Lived: California Indian Stories, Songs, and Reminiscences

Here, in their own words, indigenous voices reclaim the narrative of California Indians. Before contact, California’s Native people comprised five hundred independent tribal groups whose cultural and linguistic multiplicity expressed a sense of incalculable human richness. Reflecting that diversity, this collection of personal histories, songs, chants, and stories draws together a range of experiences from […]

Paperback, ISBN: 978-1-59714-393-6
Price: $18.00