Upcoming

PREORDER A Californian’s Guide to the Birds among Us

As its sister title, A Californian’s Guide to the Trees among Us, did for arboreal varieties, this new guidebook introduces casual birders to 120 of California’s most easily seen bird species—native and exotic alike—as found in a mix of urban, suburban, and traditionally natural habitats. Full-color images and clear, direct descriptions make identification easy, and […]

Paperback, ISBN: 978-1-59714-383-7
Price: $19.00

PREORDER Discovering Nature’s Hidden Alphabet

With imagination and a little practice, you can find the shapes of the alphabet all throughout the natural world. New from the coauthors of Heyday’s best-selling Discovering Nature’s Alphabet, this adventurous ABC picture book takes readers on a rollicking quest through bamboo groves, across vast deserts, and to the edge of the ocean in search of each letter. Every featured photograph […]

Hardcover, ISBN: 978-1-59714-358-5
Price: $16.00

PREORDER How a Mountain Was Made: Stories

In the tradition of Calvino’s Italian Folktales, Greg Sarris, author of the award-winning novel Grand Avenue, turns his attention to his ancestral homeland of Sonoma Mountain in Northern California. In sixteen interconnected original stories, the twin crows Question Woman and Answer Woman take us through a world unlike yet oddly reminiscent of our own: one […]

Hardcover, ISBN: 978-1-59714-414-8
Price: $25.00

PREORDER Our Dishonest President

Weeks before Donald J. Trump reached his first hundred days in office, the Los Angeles Times’s Editorial Board published the first of six consecutive denunciations calling him “Our Dishonest President.” The paper’s condemnation of Trump’s lies, his authoritarian temperament, his war on journalism, and his obsession with conspiracies was as bold as it was unprecedented, […]

Paperback, ISBN: 978-1-59714-433-9
Price: $7.99

PREORDER The California Field Atlas

This lavishly illustrated atlas takes readers off the beaten path and outside normal conceptions of California, revealing its myriad ecologies, topographies, and histories in exquisite maps and trail paintings. Based on decades of exploring the backcountry of the Golden State, artist-adventurer Obi Kaufmann blends science and art to illuminate the multifaceted array of living, connected systems like no book has done before. […]

Paperback, ISBN: 978-1-59714-402-5
Price: $45.00

PREORDER The City of Vines: A History of Wine in Los Angeles

Winner of the 2016 California Historical Society Book Award! The latest title from the author of A History of Wine in America recounts the beginnings of California’s world-renowned wine trade—a story set not in Napa but in the isolated pueblo now called Los Angeles. With incisive analysis and a touch of dry humor, The City […]

Hardcover, ISBN: 978-1-59714-398-1
Price: $35.00

PREORDER The Haas Sisters of Franklin Street: A San Francisco Memoir of Family and Love

Outfitted with a new foreword by Kevin Starr, this account of nineteenth- and early twentieth-century San Francisco vividly evokes the luxurious lifestyle and close bond shared by sisters Alice Haas Lilienthal and Florine Haas Bransten. While author Frances Bransten Rothmann recreates her mother and aunt’s world of leisure with lively descriptions of high tea at […]

Paperback, with flaps, ISBN: 978-1-59714-389-9
Price: $20.00