Fred Setterberg

Fred Setterberg is the coauthor, with Lonny Shavelson, of Toxic Nation, Under the Dragon: California’s New Culture, and five other books, including the award-winning The Roads Taken: Travels Through America’s Literary Landscapes. He has been a staff writer for the East Bay Express and editor of Travelers’ Tales America, and has written for the New York Times, The Nation, and scores of other national and regional magazines. He lives in Oakland, California. Visit his website at www.fredsetterberg.com.

Past Events

Fred Setterberg: The East Bay in the 1960s

Saturday Jul 27 2013   2:00 PM
Little Brown Church  384 West Estudillo Ave., San Leandro, CA  map

Secret Life of the Blue-Collar Suburb: Remembering Lunch Bucket Paradise

Tuesday Mar 12 2013   6:00 PM
California State University, Monterey Bay  100 Campus Center, Seaside, CA  map

Writing the True-Life Novel

Saturday Jan 26 2013   3:00 PM
DeVry University, Room 204  6600 Dumbarton Circle, Fremont, CA  map

A literary double header–both Oakland, both Heyday!

Monday Nov 19 2012   7:30 PM
Pegasus Books Downtown  2349 Shattuck Ave., Berkeley, CA  map

Writing the True-Life Novel

Saturday Sep 15 2012   11:00 AM
Tokyo Buffet  7217 Greenback Lane, Citrus Heights, CA  map

Reading from Lunch Bucket Paradise

Sunday Aug 19 2012   2:00 PM
Livermore Public Library  1188 South Livermore Ave., Livermore, CA  map

Writing the True-Life Novel

Saturday Jul 28 2012   2:00 PM
DeVry University, Upstairs, Room 204  6600 Dumbarton Circle, Fremont, CA  map

Steinbeck Center’s Meet the Author Series: Fred Setterberg

Friday Jul 06 2012   6:30 PM
National Steinbeck Center  1 Main St., Salinas, CA  map

Lunch Bucket Paradise: Alameda Free Library

Wednesday May 16 2012   6:30 PM
Alameda Free Library  1550 Oak St., Alameda, CA  map

Lunch Bucket Paradise: Dimond Branch Library

Saturday Apr 28 2012   2:00 PM
Dimond Branch Library  3565 Fruitvale Ave., Oakland, CA  map

Lunch Bucket Paradise: California Writers Club South Bay Branch

Tuesday Apr 10 2012   6:00 PM
Lookout Restaurant  605 Macara Ave., Sunnyvale, CA  map

Lunch Bucket Paradise: Saratoga Library

Thursday Mar 29 2012   2:00 PM
Saratoga Library  1350 Saratoga Ave., Saratoga, CA  map

An Afternoon with Fred Setterberg

Wednesday Mar 21 2012   1:30 PM
Fremont Main Library  2400 Stevenson Blvd., Fremont, CA  map

An Afternoon with Fred Setterberg

Wednesday Mar 14 2012   1:30 PM
Union City Library  34007 Alvarado Niles Rd., Union City, CA  map

Fred Setterberg: Pleasanton Public Library

Sunday Mar 11 2012   2:00 PM
Pleasanton Public Library  400 Old Bernal Ave., Pleasanton, CA  map

Fred Setterberg: Larkspur Library

Monday Feb 27 2012   7:00 PM
Larkspur Library  400 Magnolia Ave., Larkspur, CA  map

Fred Setterberg: California Writers Club Meeting

Sunday Feb 19 2012   2:00 PM
Oakland Public Library  125 14th St., Oakland, CA  map

An Afternoon with Fred Setterberg

Wednesday Feb 15 2012   1:30 AM
Castro Valley Library  3600 Northbridge Ave., Castro Valley, CA  map

An Afternoon with Fred Setterberg

Thursday Feb 09 2012   1:30 PM
Newark Library  6300 Civic Terrace Ave., Newark, CA  map

An Afternoon with Fred Setterberg

Thursday Feb 02 2012   1:30 PM
Albany Library  1247 Marin Ave., Albany, CA  map

An Afternoon with Fred Setterberg

Thursday Jan 19 2012   1:30 PM
Dublin Library  200 Civic Plaza, Dublin, CA  map

An Afternoon with Fred Setterberg

Wednesday Jan 18 2012   1:30 PM
San Lorenzo Library  395 Paseo Grande, San Lorenzo, CA  map

Lunch Bucket Paradise: Gallery Bookshop, Mendocino

Friday Nov 04 2011   6:30 PM
Gallery Bookshop  Main & Katsen, Mendocino, CA  map

Fred Setterberg @River Reader

Thursday Nov 03 2011   7:00 PM
River Reader  16355 Main St., Guerneville, CA  map

Albany YMCA/Albany Library Brown Bag Lunch Speaker’s Forum: Lunch Bucket Paradise

Monday Oct 17 2011   12:30 PM
Albany Library  1247 Marin Ave., Albany, CA  map

Litquake: Heyday’s Andrew Lam, Fred Setterberg, and Howard Junker with Thaisa Frank

Sunday Oct 09 2011   12:00 PM
Variety Preview Room  582 Market St., San Francisco, CA  map

From our Blog