John Tateishi

John Tateishi, born in Los Angeles, was incarcerated from ages three to six at Manzanar, one of America’s ten World War II concentration camps. He studied English Lit at UC Berkeley and attended UC Davis for graduate studies. He played important roles in leading the campaign for Japanese American redress, and as the JACL director, used the lessons of the campaign to help ensure that the rights of this nation’s Arab and Muslim communities were protected after 9/11.

 

johntateishi.com

Upcoming Events

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at the Japanese American Museum of San Jose (JAMsj)

Saturday Jun 06 2020   1:00 PM
JAMsj  535 N. Fifth St, San Jose, CA  map

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at Book Passage – San Francisco Ferry Building

Wednesday Jun 17 2020   6:00 PM
Book Passage - San Francisco Ferry Building  One Ferry Building, San Francisco, CA  map

Past Events

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at Pegasus Books – Downtown Berkeley

Thursday May 28 2020   7:30 PM
Pegasus Books - Downtown Berkeley  2349 Shattuck Ave, Berkeley, CA  map

John Tateishi (Redress) live on Zoom with Berkeley JACL

Saturday May 23 2020   1:00 PM
Zoom  , ,  

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at Berkeley City Club

Wednesday May 06 2020   6:30 PM
Berkeley City Club  2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA  map

VIRTUAL EVENT: John Tateishi (author of Redress) with Karen Ishizuka (chief curator, Japanese American National Museum)

Tuesday May 05 2020 - Tuesday May 05 2020  6:30 PM
  Online, ,  

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at UC Berkeley

Tuesday Apr 14 2020   6:30 PM
Ethnic Studies Library--30 Stephens Hall  UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA  map

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at JACL in Monterey

Saturday Apr 11 2020   1:00 PM
  424 Adams St, Monterey, CA  map

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at Skylight Books in Los Angeles

Friday Apr 10 2020   7:30 PM
Skylight Books  1818 N Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA  map

CANCELED: John Tateishi (Redress) at Cal State Monterey Bay

Wednesday Apr 08 2020   4:00 PM
Cal State Monterey Bay  5108 Fourth Avenue, Marina, CA  map

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at Mechanic’s Institute in San Francisco

Thursday Mar 26 2020   6:30 PM
Mechanics' Institute--4th floor meeting room  57 Post St., San Francisco, CA  map

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at J-Sei in Emeryville

Saturday Mar 21 2020   2:00 PM
J-Sei  1285 66th St, Emeryville, CA  map

POSTPONED: John Tateishi (Redress) at Book Passage Corte Madera

Wednesday Mar 18 2020   7:00 PM
Book Passage (Corte Madera)  51 Tamal Vista Blvd, Corte Madera, CA  map

John Tateishi (Redress) at DIESEL in Brentwood

Tuesday Mar 10 2020   6:30 PM
DIESEL, A Bookstore  225 26th St, Santa Monica, CA  map

John Tateishi (Redress) at JCCCNC San Francisco

Saturday Mar 07 2020   3:30 PM
JCCCNC San Francisco  1840 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA  map