Matt Ritter

Matt Ritter studies cultivated trees and trees that escape cultivation. He has a bachelor’s degree in microbiology and a Ph.D. in plant development biology. He is currently a botany professor in the biological sciences department at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, and director of the plant conservatory there. He has authored numerous scientific papers about plants and contributed to botanical references including the upcoming second edition of the Jepson Manual: Higher Plants of California and the Flora of North America Project. He holds a Kenan Fellowship at the National Tropical Botanical Gardens, is the Ray Collett Visiting Scholar at the UC Santa Cruz arboretum, teaches for the Organization of Tropical Studies in Costa Rica, and is the chair of the City of San Luis Obispo Tree Committee. Visit his website at: http://baobabbotanical.com/Ritter/Home.html.

Past Events

A Guide to Urban Trees: South Pasadena

Saturday Jun 21 2014   4:00 PM
South Pasadena Public Library Community Room  1115 El Centro St., South Pasadena, CA  map

Matt Ritter in Pasadena

Saturday Mar 24 2012   10:00 AM
Bellefontaine Nursery  838 South Fair Oaks Ave., Pasadena, CA  map

Gallery Walkthrough with Matt Ritter

Thursday Mar 22 2012   7:00 PM
Broad Contemporary Art Museum Level 2, Los Angeles County Museum of Art  5905 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA  map

Matt Ritter in Ukiah

Tuesday Mar 20 2012   7:00 PM
Ukiah City Council Chambers  300 Seminary Ave., Ukiah, CA  map

Master Gardeners Tree ID Workshop with Matt Ritter

Thursday Mar 15 2012   10:00 AM
Santa Clara University  500 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA  map

Brentwood Garden Club: Matt Ritter

Wednesday Feb 22 2012   11:00 AM
Brentwood Garden Club  , Brentwood, CA  map

San Diego Floral Association Meeting: Matt Ritter

Tuesday Feb 21 2012   6:00 PM
Casa del Prado, Room 101  Balboa Park, San Diego, CA  map

Morro Bay Natural History Museum: Matt Ritter

Monday Feb 20 2012   10:00 AM
Morro Bay Natural History Museum  Morro Bay State Park, Morro Bay, CA  map

Conversations with Cal Poly Authors: Matt Ritter

Friday Feb 03 2012   10:00 AM
Cal Poly, Kennedy Library, Room 111H  1 Grand St., San Luis Obispo, CA  map

Western Horticultural Society Meeting

Wednesday Nov 09 2011   19:30:00
Christ Episcopal Church  , Los Altos, CA  map

SLO Botanical Garden

Saturday Oct 08 2011   12:00:00
San Luis Obispo Botanical Garden  , San Luis Obispo, CA  map

Laura Cunningham and Matt Ritter at the South Pasadena Public Library

Thursday Sep 15 2011  
South Pasadena Public Library  1100 Oxley St., South Pasadena, CA  map

Trees of Santa Monica

Wednesday Sep 14 2011   5:30 PM
Environment Now,  2525 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA  map

Matt Ritter at Vroman’s Bookstore

Tuesday Sep 13 2011   7:00 PM
Vroman's Bookstore  695 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA  map

Matt Ritter @Ruth Bancroft Garden

Thursday May 26 2011   12:00:00
Ruth Bancroft Garden  , Walnut Creek, CA  map

77th Annual Western Chapter ISA Conference and Trade Show

Thursday May 12 2011   11:45:00
Hyatt Regency La Jolla  , San Diego, CA  map

Southern California Horticultural Society Meeting

Thursday May 12 2011   20:00:00
Friendship Auditorium  , Los Angeles, CA  map

Trees of San Diego

Wednesday May 11 2011   19:00:00
San Diego Botanical Gardens  , San Diego, CA  map

Santa Cruz CNPS Meeting

Monday May 09 2011   08:30:00
Arboretum Horticultural Building  , UC Santa Cruz, CA  map

Matt Ritter: Great small trees for California

Sunday Apr 24 2011   11:00:00
Flora Grubb Gardens  , San Francisco, CA  map

Tree Walk with Matt Ritter

Saturday Apr 23 2011   10:00:00
Cole Valley  , San Francisco, CA  map

Urban Trees at the Green Arcade

Saturday Apr 23 2011   15:00:00
The Green Arcade  , San Francisco, CA  map

Botany Lunch Talk

Friday Apr 22 2011   12:00:00
Jepson Herbarium  , UC Berkeley, CA  map

Friends of the Urban Forest at CCSF

Thursday Apr 21 2011   19:00:00
City College of San Francisco  , San Francisco, CA  map

SLO Arbor Day

Saturday Apr 09 2011   11:00:00
Mitchell Park  , San Luis Obispo, CA  map

Learn about your local trees!

Thursday Apr 07 2011   12:30:00
San Luis Obispo City County Library  , San Luis Obispo, CA  map

SLO Retired Active Men

Thursday Mar 31 2011   08:30:00
Retired Active Men  , San Luis Obispo, CA  map

Sierra Club Santa Lucia Chapter Meeting

Wednesday Mar 30 2011   19:00:00
Steynberg Gallery  , San Luis Obispo, CA  map