Naomi Hirahara

Naomi Hirahara is a writer of both nonfiction books and mysteries. With Geraldine Knatz, she cowrote Terminal Island: The Lost Communities of Los Angeles Harbor, which won a Bruckman Award for Excellence and an Award of Merit from the Conference of California Historical Societies. Her Edgar Award–winning Mas Arai mysteries have been published in France, Japan, and Korea. A former editor of the Rafu Shimpo newspaper, she also curates historical exhibitions and writes articles and short stories.

Past Events

Life after Manzanar/Moving Walls with Naomi Hirahara and Sharon Yamato

Thursday Jun 28 2018   6:00 PM
J-Sei  1285 66th St, Emeryville, CA  map

Life after Manzanar at the Japanese American National Museum

Saturday Jun 23 2018  
Japanese American National Museum  100 N Central Ave, Los Angeles, CA  map

Life after Manzanar with Naomi Hirahara

Sunday Jun 17 2018   2:00 PM
The Buddhist Temple of Chicago  1151 W Leland Ave, Chicago, IL  map

Life after Manzanar at the Santa Monica Public Library

Tuesday May 22 2018   7:00 PM
Santa Monica Public Library Auditorium  601 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA  map

Life after Manzanar at the Seattle Public Library

Sunday May 06 2018   2:00 PM
Central Library  1000 4th Ave, Seattle, WA  map

Life after Manzanar at Eagle Harbor Book Co.

Saturday May 05 2018   12:30 PM
Eagle Harbor Book Co.  157 Winslow Way E, Bainbridge Island, WA  map

Life after Manzanar Presentation at the Manzanar Pilgrimage

Sunday Apr 29 2018   11:00 AM
Manzanar National Historic Site  Manzanar Reward Rd, , CA 

49th Annual Manzanar Pilgrimage with Naomi Hirahara and Heather C. Lindquist

Saturday Apr 28 2018  
Manzanar National Historic Site  Manzanar Reward Rd, , CA 

Los Angeles Times Festival of Books

Saturday Apr 21 2018 - Sunday Apr 22 2018 
University of Southern California  University Park Campus, Los Angeles, CA  map

Life after Manzanar with Naomi Hirahara, Heather C. Lindquist, and special guest traci kato-kiriyama

Thursday Apr 12 2018   7:00 PM
Katy Geissert Civic Center Library  3301 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA  map